Persons under the age of 21 in our stores
It is the policy of the Asheville ABC Board to prohibit anyone 18, 19, or 20 years of age from entering our stores. Children under the age of 18 may enter our stores, as long as they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
Acceptable Forms of ID
It is the responsibility of the customer to prove that they are 21 years of age. The forms of ID acceptable in Asheville ABC Stores include:
- A valid U.S. driver’s license
- A valid North Carolina State ID card (no other State ID cards are acceptable)
- A valid passport
- A valid U.S. Military ID
Group ID Policy
It is the policy of the Asheville ABC Board to immediately check the ID of any young person, as soon as they enter our store. An entire group of people can be refused if any member of the group is underage or unable to produce an acceptable form of ID.
Welcome to the Asheville Alcoholic Control Board Law Enforcement Division.
The Asheville ABC Law Enforcement Division consists of 3 full-time officers dedicated to the enforcement of the North Carolina Alcohol Beverage Control Laws. ABC officers may arrest and take other investigative and enforcement actions for any criminal offenses; however, the primary responsibility of an ABC officer is the enforcement of the ABC Laws (NC General Statutes 18B) and the drug laws (Chapter 90 of the NC General Statutes). ABC officers also enforce the NC ABC Commission Administrative Rules and Regulations. ABC officers conduct compliance inspections and investigations of ABC permitted establishments. If a violation is detected, the ABC officer will submit a violation report the NC ABC Commission. ABC officers also work with ABC permitted establishments in helping educate their employees about responsible alcohol sales. At times, officers may conduct an underage campaign where ABC establishments are checked to see if they are in compliance with sales to underage persons.
Asheville ABC Law Enforcement is proud to be associated with other law enforcement agencies. Asheville ABC Law Enforcement may, at times, combine resources with local police departments and/or federal agencies to conduct and complete certain investigations.
If you have information regarding ABC Laws violations or would like to register a complaint, you can contact and ABC officer at (828) 210-1444 or by e-mail.
Impairment begins with your first drink. For safety’s sake, never drive after drinking.
In accordance with North Carolina ABC laws, a customer may only purchase up to eight (8) liters of alcohol (distilled spirits) from our stores without a transportation permit. With a transportation permit, the customer may purchase up to forty (40) liters of alcohol and subsequently transport their purchase within the State of North Carolina . A transportation permit is issued free of charge at the store, and is valid until 9:30 p.m. on the date it is issued.
If you need a permit on the day of the purchase, you can obtain an additional permit by returning to one of our stores and advising us how much you need to relocate. Our sales associates are unable to provide “blank” permits to patrons.
Transportation permits are also available (and necessary) when purchasing large quantities of wine. The quantity limits for fortified wine are the same as the aforementioned limits described for alcohol (distilled spirits). However, a customer may purchase up to twenty (20) liters of unfortified wines without a transportation permit and a maximum of 100 liters with a transportation permit. Customers planning to purchase large quantities of wine may obtain a permit from an ABC store at no charge.
Note: A permit is not required for the purchase of beer. However, a person cannot legally purchase more than 80 liters of beer per transaction, except in kegs.
For additional statutory information on ABC Board policies, please see the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission.